Location Scouting and Ideas Development

Today I have been visiting a location in my local area as I am currently considering the best scenic place to shoot my next idea.  My vision is to shoot a male person in a place with a wide space to work with and so I have been exploring various field areas, both man made and natural.

Fig 1-4. Location 1. 2015

This man made location in Milton Keynes, Bedfordshire offers a nice range of views and space to use, there is also a lake that I find would make a tranquil setting.  I think this is a good location as there is a variety of viewpoints from where I could experiment with shooting from high or low angles.

 

Fig 5-8. Location 2. 2015

This park location also sets a nice scene and offers a broad amount of space.  I think this location could also work well as there is a mix of social, urban features such as spaces for golf, and rugby as well as natural space.  I think with this location, I have more choice of what I could use as a backdrop for a scene.  For example, I can use brick walls, posts, trees and pathways and this gives me more inspiration to consider the type of props I may use.

 

There are various other locations that I find would be useful to my practice in my current work with spaces and I am keen to explore them.

 

Fig 9. Location 3. 2015

This location is set in a more natural woodland environment.  This space is interesting as it features historic architecture in various parts such as a windmill.  I find this location has strong character and I think this will work well as a background setting from a narrative perspective because of the broad surroundings and variety of working within both a wide space (i.e. fields) and a more tighter space (woods).

I have found it very useful to visit these locations before shooting as this gives me an idea of the type of setting I could use depending on aspects I intend to use for my image(s).  By visiting these locations, I find I have opened more options towards how I can stage my subject and how I can use the scenery as a contributing factor.

Leave a Reply

