Objects and Landscape: Experimental Shoot

This week, I have been experimenting with objects in the exterior landscape; this explores ‘Expanded Practice’ in a sense where ordinary objects could bring more potential in function in relation to their location.  Every item has its place and I am interested in taking items out of their usual ‘habitat’ and placing them somewhere you would not normally see them.  What would happen if we walked past a living room in the middle of nowhere? How would one react if they saw a a form of nature that could tell us the time? My intention is to expand the viewer’s idea of how things don’t always have to be placed where they are ‘meant to be’.  I have used props including an umbrella, tableware and a clock.  I chose these items because I wanted to play with objects that had unique character to them as well as an item which can also stand out against the background.  I chose to photograph in a forest as my intention was to feature the objects in a space that is rather isolated and bleak in colour to create more visual contrast.  I found this shoot was an interesting first attempt on focusing on more on objects than the individual.  I did find it difficult to create even composition when choosing the space setting, however, I find this shoot has given me new perspective on bringing the contemporary item and the natural space together.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Post Production

During post production, I adjusted the exposure, colour hues and framing of the images using the crop tool in Photoshop.  I intended not to adjust the colours too much as I still wanted to keep the appearance of the landscape quite low key.

Screen Shot 2016-03-08 at 14.02.17

 

Experimental Outcomes

umbrella1

For one of these images, I feature the individual directly interacting with the umbrella prop.  I find this image brings a sense of curiosity as from the viewers perspective, we are following an anonymous stranger down a woodland path unknowing of what lies ahead.  I do find this image is somewhat mainstream, however I feel it works in a way that draws the audience to ambiguous subject matter.

umbrella2

I also tried photographing the umbrella prop as a single subject focus. I find this image brings more depth to the environment as the image is shot in a way that rings more attention to surrounding aspects.  I also find the prop acts as a leading element that also maintains our attention to its colourful characteristics and the rule of thirds is also present.  I do find some areas are overexposed but despite this, the prop contrasts strongly against the backdrop.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This image takes a slightly different approach to the experiments.  I chose to photograph the teacup in a part of the landscape that was rather rough and textured as this contrasts against the smooth and slender shape of the china teacup.  Here my intention was to bring an awareness of the civilised world meeting the primitive, natural environment.

Exhibition Space

For this idea, I have decided the installation of this concept will be featured as a collective picture wall where the images will display at different heights and sizes and the objects seen in the images will feature as they would be seen in an interior environment.

Installation Draft Diagram:

Screen Shot 2016-03-10 at 15.37.57

Additional features that could potentially be added to this installation concept involve making the space feel interior. For example, I could add a door, a rug or a window to have the viewer feel as if they are experiencing the environment the object actually belong to.

Installation Draft Diagram 2:

Screen Shot 2016-03-10 at 15.55.05

Equipment needed to present this type of installation includes platforms to place/hook objects onto.

Leave a Reply

